This article is to be used for informational purposes only. The information contained herein is not intended to be used in place of, or in conjunction with, professional medical advice or recommendations for tattoo designs or placement. Prior to getting a tattoo, individuals should consult with their physician to make sure that it is a safe procedure for them to endure. Some individuals should not get a tattoo if they have certain medical conditions or a weakened immune system.
Before you decide to get a tattoo, you should always do a little research. If you are a minor and want to get a tattoo you should be sure getting one is allowed by the law in your State you are living in. This article addresses the legal age to get a tattoo in California.
In the United States of America, there is no federal law that regulates the practice of tattooing. However, every State has its own statutory laws that prohibits minors from getting a tattoo. Minimum age to get a tattoo in most of the States is 18 years. In some states minors can get tattoos with the consent of their guardians or parents but some states strictly prohibit tattooing under a certain age normally 18 years.
In all jurisdictions, tattooists may also refuse to give a tattoo due to some moral feelings. They can refuse to work on a minor even with parental consent. They may also choose to place additional restrictions if they merely find it offensive or inappropriate.
Legal Age To Get A Tattoo In California
As per the body Art. Cal. Health & Safety Code § 119300 to 119328 and Cal. Penal Code 653, Legal age to get a tattoo in California is 18 years. As per the State of California Statutory law, a person should be at least 18 years old in order to undergo body art procedures. The law prohibits a person less than 18 years of age from getting a tattoo unless his/her parents or guardian give a written permission. The law also requires that the parents/ Guardians shall be present during the tattooing procedure.
The law strictly prohibits getting a tattoo on minor’s nipples or genitals even with the consent of parents or guardians. Permanent cosmetics are permitted on nipples but it must be done by an expert cosmetic technician and with the written consent of parents or guardians.